Home.About Us.Projects & Activities.School Sports.Parent Information.Policies.Newsletters.

Kilbehenny National School


Co Limerick


Tel:  025/84337

follow me on twitter

Board of Management


The Board of Management is the decision making body of the school and is made up of eight members. They hold a four year term of office. It comprises of the Chairperson, Principal, two parent nominees (a father and a mother), two patron nominees, one teacher and two community nominees elected by the Board of Management. The Board of Management meets regularly each year.


Functions of the Board of Management

Boards of Management are responsible for the direct government of schools. The duties of the Board of Management include the following:

· The appointment of teachers and ancillary staff;

· Approving school closures;

· Approving teacher absences for a variety of reasons;

· The appointment of teachers to deputy/principal and other posts of responsibility;

· Ensuring compliance with relevant legislation; and

· Ensuring that schools are adequately insured and maintained.


Present Members of the Board of Management for the term 2015-2019 are:

· Aidan Leahy  (Chairperson)

· Stephen Walsh   (Secretary)

· Rev. Fr Richard Kelly  (Patron Nominee)

· Siobhán Clancy  (Community Nominee)

· Fan Condon  (Community Nominee)

· Eileen Moloney  (Teacher Nominee)

· Eileen Maher  (Parent Nominee)

· Kevin Fitzgerald  (Parent  Nominee)